State among adults who say humans evolved due to natural processes by views about same-sex marriage (2014) Switch to: Views about same-sex marriage among adults who say humans evolved due to natural processes by state

% of adults who say humans evolved due to natural processes who are in…

Views about same-sex marriageAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyomingSample size
Strongly favor/favor1%< 1%2%< 1%16%2%2%< 1%< 1%6%2%1%< 1%5%2%1%1%1%1%1%2%4%3%2%< 1%2%< 1%1%1%1%3%1%8%2%< 1%3%1%2%4%< 1%1%< 1%1%6%1%< 1%2%3%< 1%2%< 1%9,514
Oppose/strongly oppose2%< 1%2%1%14%1%1%< 1%< 1%8%3%1%< 1%4%2%1%1%2%2%1%2%2%3%1%1%2%< 1%1%1%< 1%3%1%6%4%< 1%3%1%1%4%< 1%1%< 1%2%7%1%< 1%2%2%< 1%1%< 1%1,883
Don't know1%< 1%2%2%10%1%1%< 1%< 1%8%2%1%< 1%4%3%2%< 1%2%1%< 1%2%3%5%1%< 1%2%1%< 1%1%1%3%1%7%2%< 1%3%2%< 1%6%< 1%1%< 1%1%9%< 1%< 1%2%3%1%2%< 1%550
Sample sizes and margins of error vary from subgroup to subgroup, from year to year and from state to state. You can see the sample size for the estimates in this chart on rollover or in the last column of the table. And visit this table to see approximate margins of error for a group of a given size. Readers should always bear in mind the approximate margin of error for the group they are examining when making comparisons with other groups or assessing the significance of trends over time. For full question wording, see the survey questionnaire.

Learn More: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin