State among adults who say homosexuality should be discouraged by political party (2014) Switch to: Party affiliation among adults who say homosexuality should be discouraged by state

% of adults who say homosexuality should be discouraged who are in…

Party affiliationAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyomingSample size
Republican/lean Rep.3%< 1%2%2%8%2%1%< 1%< 1%5%4%< 1%1%4%3%1%1%2%2%< 1%1%1%3%2%2%2%< 1%1%1%< 1%1%1%4%4%< 1%4%2%1%4%< 1%2%< 1%4%9%2%< 1%3%2%1%2%< 1%6,323
No lean2%< 1%2%1%13%1%< 1%< 1%< 1%7%3%< 1%< 1%3%2%1%1%2%1%< 1%1%1%3%2%1%3%< 1%< 1%1%< 1%3%1%6%4%< 1%4%1%1%4%< 1%2%< 1%2%11%< 1%< 1%2%2%1%2%< 1%1,644
Democrat/lean Dem.2%< 1%1%1%11%1%1%< 1%< 1%7%4%< 1%< 1%5%2%1%< 1%2%2%< 1%2%1%3%2%2%2%< 1%< 1%1%< 1%3%1%6%3%< 1%3%2%1%4%< 1%2%< 1%4%9%< 1%< 1%2%1%1%1%< 1%2,905
Sample sizes and margins of error vary from subgroup to subgroup, from year to year and from state to state. You can see the sample size for the estimates in this chart on rollover or in the last column of the table. And visit this table to see approximate margins of error for a group of a given size. Readers should always bear in mind the approximate margin of error for the group they are examining when making comparisons with other groups or assessing the significance of trends over time. For full question wording, see the survey questionnaire.

Learn More: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming