State among who believe in Hell by belief in heaven (2014) Switch to: Belief in Heaven among who believe in Hell by state

% of who believe in Hell who are in…

Belief in HeavenAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyomingSample size
Believe2%< 1%2%1%11%1%1%< 1%< 1%6%4%< 1%< 1%4%2%1%1%2%2%< 1%2%1%3%2%1%2%< 1%1%1%< 1%3%1%5%4%< 1%4%1%1%4%< 1%2%< 1%3%9%1%< 1%3%2%1%2%< 1%18,174
Don't believe1%< 1%2%1%13%2%1%< 1%< 1%8%4%1%< 1%5%1%1%1%1%1%< 1%1%1%3%2%1%2%< 1%1%< 1%< 1%1%1%6%3%< 1%5%1%1%5%< 1%2%< 1%2%9%1%< 1%3%2%< 1%2%< 1%456
Other/don't know2%< 1%1%1%10%2%< 1%< 1%< 1%5%3%< 1%1%4%2%1%1%2%1%1%1%1%4%2%1%2%< 1%< 1%1%< 1%2%< 1%5%5%< 1%4%1%1%5%< 1%2%1%4%12%1%< 1%2%1%1%2%< 1%537
Sample sizes and margins of error vary from subgroup to subgroup, from year to year and from state to state. You can see the sample size for the estimates in this chart on rollover or in the last column of the table. And visit this table to see approximate margins of error for a group of a given size. Readers should always bear in mind the approximate margin of error for the group they are examining when making comparisons with other groups or assessing the significance of trends over time. For full question wording, see the survey questionnaire.

Learn More: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming