With Raphael Warnock’s victory over appointed Senator Kelly Loeffler and Jon Ossoff’s defeat of Senator David Perdue, 34 of this election cycle’s 35 Senate races were won by candidates of the same party that carried the state in the presidential contest. The lone exception was Republican Senator Susan Collins of Maine.

The vast majority of the regular and special Senate elections held since 2012 have been won by candidates who belonged to or were aligned with the party that won that state’s most recent presidential race, according to a Pew Research Center analysis of election results going back to 1980. 

That represents a marked contrast with prior years: As recently as 2006, nearly a third of Senate contests were won by candidates of different parties than their state’s most recent presidential pick.